Paralyzed Veterans of America Elects Leadership for 2018-2019 Term

Share This Article


Washington, DC—Paralyzed Veterans of America today announced that David Zurfluh, an Air Force veteran, and native of Washington state, will serve as national president for a 2nd consecutive term. Zurfluh was re-elected by Paralyzed Veterans of America’s board of directors during the organization’s 72nd Annual Convention last week.

The following individuals were also re-elected to their respective positions: Ken Weas, national senior vice president; Hack Albertson, national vice president; Charles Brown, national vice president; Robert Thomas, national vice president; Larry Dodson, national secretary; and Tom Wheaton, national treasurer. Tammy Jones, from the Texas Chapter of Paralyzed Veterans of America, was newly elected to the fourth vice president spot on the executive committee. With the re-election of Zurfluh, Al Kovach, Jr. will continue to serve the organization as immediate past president. The executive committee will begin its new one year term on July 1, 2018.

“I joined Paralyzed Veterans of America the same year I was injured,” said Zurfluh. “As I lay in my hospital bed after my injury, lost, broken and wondering about my future, Paralyzed Veterans of America came to my aid, gave me hope and showed me a path to succeed in life. I am honored to lead the organization and be the voice for its members and supporters for another year.”

Zurfluh is a U.S. Air Force veteran who served his country in Operation Desert Shield/Storm before being injured in a motor vehicle accident in 1995 while on active duty in Hachinohe, Japan. Following one year of inpatient rehabilitation and two years of outpatient care, he resumed life as an incomplete quadriplegic.

Since the organization’s founding more than 70 years ago, generations of Paralyzed Veterans of America’s leaders have worked to improve the quality of life for veterans and all people living with spinal cord injury and/or disease.