Bowling is a sport of skill & persistence.
If you like competition & camaraderie, try bowling.

Paralyzed Veterans of America has engaged the American Wheelchair Bowling Association (AWBA) to sanction a tournament series.  Contact Keith Cooper at for more information.


Mid-America Bowling Tournament April 9-12, 2020 Firelake Bowling Center Shawnee, Oklahoma CANCELLED
Vaughan Bowling Tournament April 30 - May 3, 2020 Bowlero Romeoville, Illinois CANCELLED

Wheelchair Bowling

In July, PVA co-hosted a webinar with the American Wheelchair Bowling Association (AWBA). The National Coordinator for ParaBowling, from the World Bowling Federation gave a presentation on wheelchair bowling and the Paralympics.  If you are interested in learning more, please view the webinar.  

International ParaBowling through World Bowling

Wheelchair Bowling Classification & Eligibility

What athletes need to know:

1. Eligibility: To bowl from a wheelchair you must have a permanent qualifying disability. See below under classification/disciplines.

2. Certification: You must have a permanent disability to be eligible for national or international wheelchair bowling competition. To begin, you must have a medical doctor complete a Medical Diagnostic Form (MDF) required by World Bowling and the International Paralympic Committee (IPC) certifying your disability. You will then submit that MDF to the American Wheelchair Bowling Association (AWBA). Subsequently, if you qualify to participate at a national trials or international competition, this will be forwarded onto the United States Bowling Association (USBA) and World Bowling (WB).

MDF forms will be made available prior to any trials in the USA and any registration for competition by World Bowling. The MDF information is maintained on a secure database, pending any further qualification for international competition sanctioned by World Bowling.

3. Verification: Once submitted, WB Classification will review the MDF and keep it in file, pending any questions WB Classifiers might have. Last, if you meet all eligibility requirements to compete, your disability will be validated prior to competition by WB international classifiers at any WB internationally sanctioned event.

4. Qualification: to qualify for international competition under the USA, you must meet the qualifying criteria established for USA team selection through the AWBA / United States Bowling Congress (USBC). The AWBA is currently developing qualifications standards.

5. Trials: You must be invited to attend USA Team Trials. If selected to attend the USA Team Trials your travel and accommodations will be provided.

6. Competition Certification: Prior to competition at Nationals, the Para Pan American Zone qualifier or the World Championships, WB international classifiers will evaluate you based on the MDF you submitted for the classification you are entered in. Once certified, you are set for competition.

The World Bowling classification rules and modified playing rules will be provided to the AWBA and the USBA for dissemination.

Notably, three classifications are incorporated within the Wheelchair Division. However, only two classifications will be contested initially due to the lack of international numbers in the Ramp Division. Therefore, the quadriplegic class and IKAN Ramp class are being comingled together.

1. Para & Amputee.
2. Quadriplegic
3. Ramp - pending further development

Wheelchair Division consists of three sport classifications.  Standard Rules and Modified Competition Rules apply Includes those with impaired muscle power (e.g. paraplegia and quadriplegia, muscular dystrophy - a group of inherited conditions affecting the muscles, gradually leading to disability., post-polio syndrome, spina bifida  (malformation of the vertebrae in the spine that exposes the spinal column), impaired passive range of movement, limb deficiency (e.g. amputation or dysmelia), leg length difference, hypertonia, ataxia. Loss of coordination of voluntary muscle movements, athetosis.

(W1) Para/Amputee Classification – incorporates all wheelchairs and power wheelchair users, with lower limb disability or dysfunction, paraplegia, cerebral palsy (with functional hands), partial or full leg amputees and Les Autres athletes with mobility disfunction. All must compete from a wheelchair and follow the rules of play and modified rules established for this discipline. All must manually self-propel the ball.

(W2) Quad Classification – All wheelchair users with quadriplegia, meaning disability and dysfunction in all four limbs, including both hands with manifest functional limitation. All are able to manually propel the ball, except those that qualify in the IKAN Ramp division.

(W3) Ramp Classification – (Dynamic-IKAN) A wheelchair user with severe limitations of all four limbs, unable to manually propel the ball. This discipline will require an assistant (Caddy) to place the ball on a ramp (design specifications required to meet established rule guidelines). The ball placement is directed by the bowler and it is released by a mouth stick or electronically.  The Ramp classification (W3) will be commingled with the quad division (W2) until such time as there are enough countries to warrant a separate division.

Gary Ryan
Secretary AWBA
1.713.444.7588 Cell

World Bowling
Mark E. Shepherd Sr., MBA
Chairman ParaBowling @ World Bowling
1.719.210.5733 Cell